About Us

Mission

The Northern Cancer Foundation (NCF) was formed in 1992 with the mission of raising funds throughout the Northeastern Ontario region to support cancer research and cancer care programs of the Shirley and Jim Fielding Northeast Cancer Centre of Health Sciences North (HSN).

About Northern Cancer Foundation

The Shirley and Jim Fielding Northeast Cancer Centre at Health Sciences North is a special place – a place you might not realize is special until you’ve been here, or until you have needed its services. The Northern Cancer Foundation aims to make an impact on the cancer care experience through the support of local cancer research and vital equipment purchases at the Shirley and Jim Fielding Northeast Cancer Centre.

Our History

The Northern Cancer Foundation was formed in 1992 with the mission of raising funds throughout northeastern Ontario to support cancer care programs of the Shirley and Jim Fielding Northeast Cancer Centre.

Since then, we have worked with hundreds of organizations from secondary schools and Legions to international mining corporations alongside thousands of individuals all with a desire to make an impact and the goal of ridding society of cancer.

NORTHERN CANCER FOUNDATION STAFF

Anthony Keating President and CDO of Foundations and Volunteer Groups at HSN
akeating@hsnsudbury.ca
Cassandra Watters Fundraising, Annual Giving & Communications Officer
cawatters@hsnsudbury.ca
Cecilia Aparicio Philanthropy and Stewardship Officer
caparicio@hsnsudbury.ca
Daniel Wereszczynsky Director of Finance and Administration
dwereszczynsky@hsnsudbury.ca
Debra Dawe (On leave) Manager, Community Engagement
ddawe@hsnsudbury.ca
Heather MacArthur Development Coordinator
hmacarthur@hsnsudbury.ca
Jennifer Ashcroft Senior Director of Major Gifts
jashcroft@hsnsudbury.ca
Jessica Lopatka Senior Manager, Brand Marketing and Communications
jlopatka@hsnsudbury.ca
Kasandra Henry Digital Communications Officer
khenry@hsnsudbury.ca
Lindsay Brabant Events Assistant
lbrabant@hsnsudbury.ca
Lori Fiorino Executive Assistant, President & CDO of Foundations and Volunteer Groups
lfiorino@hsnsudbury.ca
Mindie Mullen Donor and Administrative Coordinator
mmullen@hsnsudbury.ca
Shane Gordon Manager, Lottery and Websites
sgordon@hsnsudbury.ca
Shanna Crispo Director, Marketing Communications and Community Engagement
scrispo@hsnsudbury.ca

The Northern Cancer Foundation is guided by a volunteer Board of Directors who are united in their mission to maintain a world-class cancer treatment centre for the people of northeastern Ontario. Their role is to set the Foundation’s strategic direction, uphold its values and governance, and support the Chief Development Officer and Executive Director who lead the administrative team toward achieving the NCF’s vision and purpose. Each member brings a wealth of knowledge, expertise and strong community resources to the Foundation.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Christine Harvey Chair View Bio
Samantha Kuula Vice Chair View Bio
Dr. Kristy Côté Past Chair View Bio
Melissa Bouffard Treasurer View Bio
Debbie Korzeniecki View Bio
Dr. Helene Joly View Bio
Ian Lane View Bio
Dan Gray View Bio
Pauline Pelangio View Bio
Yonaniko S. Grenon View Bio
Céline Roy View Bio
Mackenzie Straub View Bio
Mark Hartman Ex-officio View Bio
Anthony Keating Ex-officio View Bio
Dr. Natalie Aubin Ex-officio

Where the Money Goes

The Northern Cancer Foundation prides itself on its mandate of being the fundraising vehicle for the Shirley and Jim Fielding Northeast Cancer Centre in Sudbury, Ontario. Every penny received by the Foundation stays in the community and directly supports vital patient care, new equipment purchases and world-class cancer research in our own backyard. Donors from across Northeastern Ontario can rest assured that their money is being put to work for the betterment of their community.

Our charity is open and transparent. We are respectful of the contributions entrusted to us, and ensure that your funds are put to their intended use. We proudly represent the community in which we live and work hard to meet the challenges that face us. Ours is a culture that is engaged and welcoming. Above all, we work with enthusiasm, passion and a high degree of commitment to our cause.

HSN 50/50 Cash Lottery — You win, we win. Don’t miss your chance!